I started high school two days ago. It's not... well... I don't know what to say about high school over all.
Our high school schedule is a four block, which means we have two semesters, divided by winter break. Four classes per semester, eight classes total. Blocks (they technically aren't called periods, although mostly they are anyway) are 90 minutes each.
My schedule this semester is Algebra 2 Honors, Health/P.E., Biomedical Technology, (OXFORD COMMA NEVER DIES.) and Honors Biology.
Day 1 was... well, shitty. It sucked. Day 2 was a lot better, so I won't go into an awful lot of detail on why Day 1 sucked, but suffice it to say I had a bit of a crying meltdown. Yikes. Well, the good news is I feel much better now.
Algebra 2 is... well, it's... it's hard. I recognize a lot of the people from my past math classes, when I was in sixth grade I and three other students took math with the seventh graders in addition to sixth grade math... and I'm still a little resentful. That year sucked, because, and this sounds stupid, but it meant a lot to me, I didn't get to sit with my friends. Or anybody in my grade, actually. So that was just... terrible. So then last year we took Geometry online, and in seventh grade we took Algebra 1 with eighth graders. I can't spell eighth properly. Okay.
Well, anyway, I remember some of the people from Algebra 1. I'm not sure that they remember me, but that's alright. Behind sits a football guy... he's a bit intimidating, and the only other freshman friend I have with me in my class is my carpool buddy and dearest guy friend. Unfortunately, he has a lot of sopohmore friends, so I think I'll probably end up being ignored. The only other person I really know in math is a girl I used to go to summer camp with, and though it's a bit complicated, we've remained friends over the years and correspond often online. Fortunately, although she is a sophomore, she does still talk to me in the class. Mostly people in the class are fairly friendly... though they don't know I'm a freshman. So, that. As you can see, I'm a little self-conscious.
The teacher seems rather nice. He's a bit of a nerd, which I love. I've thought about it a bit and I think my type is nerdy guys. Not, like, I like my Algebra teacher, it's just, on the subject of nerds. en-ee-ways...
We went over how to use our calculators yesterday. I was so lost. We didn't use them at all last year when we took Geometry online, but of course everyone in a normal class did, so THEY all know how to use it, and of course, my Geometry/carpool/freshman buddy mentioned above is a complete and total computer genius, so of course HE can use it, so it's pretty much just me. After that we did some easy things which I knew how to do so that made me feel better. I think... I think we have a test soon. Yes. September second.
Then I have P.E./Health. There are three P.E. teachers at our high school- the woman is a bit older, and she's also the volleyball coach. My good friend is on the volleyball team, so this coach loves her, but her motto is, 'don't just sit, get fit!' which she told us on the first day. AWESOME. Fortunately, I did not get her. And then there's this blowhard gym teacher, who basically fits all of your sitcom gym teacher stereotypes and more. He's a gigantic dick who hates freshman. And women. But fortunately, I didn't get him, either. You have no idea how fucking relieved I am that I got gym teacher number three, or, the lazy teacher. He's really fucking lazy. 'So guys, uh, I don't really like to teach Health, so we're probably just gonna do some stuff on the computers for that. and uh, yeah...' Apparently, sometimes, during Gym, he just goes into his office and smokes pot. So, uh, at least he'll be relaxed. :D Yeah, I'm really fucking relieved. On Friday, the other two classes stretched and ran around the track, while OUR gym teacher said, 'So, uh, we're starting health on Monday, so I don't really see the point in starting a whole unit, so, uh, we're just gonna, uh, walk around the, uh, cross country trails this, uh, block.'
Yeah. So we did that. And it sucked, because it was hot outside. But it could have been so much worse. TRANSITION! There are eight (Eight is a difficult word for spelling) girls in my P.E. class. But it's okay... I know half of them from middle school, and the half that I know, I like. Also, it's awesome because the locker rooms are super duper big, I mean, they aren't really, but compared to our middle school they totally are. Last year, halfway through the school, the new school (PMS are the initials. I'm not fucking kidding. They seriously are.) opened, so we transfered there after winter break, and we merged with the middle school of another K-8 school in the area. What this means is I sort of know half the freshman class, which is good. But anyway, PMS had to have gigantic gym classes, (two eighth grade classes and one sixth grade class) in the gym at the same time. Which means, in the locker room at the same time. And sixth graders, goddamn, sixth graders really fucking do not understand personal space. I'm not going to elaborate on that anymore.
So, it's fun. The way our P.E. works is we'll have Health for three weeks, and then P.E. for three weeks, and so on... and we have Health starting Monday. So that's excellent.
Then I have Biomedical Technology. It's the intro level to the Health Science courses, which means that if you want to take any medical classes, you better fucking take Biomed your first year. So I did! And it's boring as hell. Yesterday, we spent seventy minutes on proper notetaking techniques. And I'm not exaggerating on time. Seventy fucking minutes. Although, it probably would have been forty if it weren't for the fact that this woman who teaches the class takes a break at the end of each phrase she speaks, almost as though she's waiting for us to burst into applause or something. Also, she's morbidly obese.
But on the plus side, it's really, really fucking easy, and at the end, I'll be a certified nursing assistant. Plus, I like the people in the class, I have my second best friend, and then a guy across from me who I ride the bus with and yesterday gave me his number. And I didn't ask for it. So that was interesting. And the woman is so fucking lazy she lets us sit wherever we want, basically, so we have fun.
That's also the class I have lunch with, though we get to sit with whoever we want in the cafeteria, but the lunches are in shifts. So we have second lunch. There are four lunches. Not that many of my friends also have second lunch, but I have my second best friend, and my P.E. friend, and my former best friend, and some guy friends, and some friendly acquaintances, so it's not optimal, but okay.
Then, I have Biology Honors, which is quite a bit of fun. I like the teacher, though she's six months pregnant, which means we might get a sub near the end of the semester. Also, she's gained 17.2 pounds since the beginning of her pregnancy. I know that because my group yesterday guessed the closest to the amount she's gained (20 pounds) at the end of class. We won candy. It made me happy. And, she lets us pick our groups, and, although we have assigned seats, she put me next to my best friend, so it's fun.
And that's about it... OH! And the bus. Let's not forget the bus, shall we?
Okay, well, the bus is pretty fucking terrible, it's hot, and overcrowded, and ghetto as hell. WAY ghetto-er than the school. I didn't ride yesterday, but I did ride Thursday. I got home at four thirty. School ends at three. In a car, it takes 15 minutes to get from my house to the school. Our bus driver doesn't fucking know how to drive, or how to navigate the area, or how to control a group of ghetto-ass kids, so it was super duper fucking fantastic.
I sat next to some mentally disabled kid because he was one of the only people that didn't look like he wanted to shiv me. And then, the ex-boyfriend decides he, too, wants to sit next to me. So we're three to a seat, which I'm pretty sure isn't even fucking legal. And then, in the seat across from us is some punk-ass kid with five goddamn visible tattoos. Tattoos that look like he didn't get them in a parlor, if you know what I mean. And you don't, because that was a subtle joke about prison tats.
So, that. But then my ex-boyfriend laughed at all of the boy's jokes because he was scared. And then the gang kid called my ex his, his words, not mine, his 'little white nigger'. So, that. I HAVE GANG TIES NOW! :D
And then I got home at four thirty. And my mom was flipping shit because she thought I would get home at, like, 3:30. And apparently she called all of my friends that live in the neighborhood because she was worried. so, awesome possum.
and that's about it.
Also, there was an earthquake here. It was scary.
Saturday, August 27, 2011
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment