i'm not your manic pixie dream girl

Friday, September 9, 2011

I wake up and I feel alone.

I've been so tired lately. I've been getting up twenty minutes earlier than I did last year, but it's still sort of late, comparatively.
I've had a rather nice week. I've been doing surprisingly well in Algebra 2... we got our tests back today, and we got them LAST FUCKING FRIDAY. And he only has one class of, like, twenty eight students. Foolishness. - word of the week
I also attended THE QUIZBOWL INTEREST MEETING. Because I'm such a special gal. There was one (1!) person in attendance, other than myself, which was pretty cool. He was a senior but he still talked to me which automatically makes me like him. It's probably because he doesn't have any friends his own age. But whatever. There were also tryouts today, though, so probably (hopefully) more people came to that one. I really like the teacher, he teaches 12th grade Honors English, which is cool. And his classroom is cool. He has interesting posters, and in interesting bookshelf. I don't know. He asked us to name our strengths on the contact sheet... and I couldn't think of any. Afterwards, like, when I got home, I could think of some... so he probably thinks I'm a complete idiot.
I don't know. I did okay on our little practice quiz- 8/22. It sounds bad, but Quizbowl's a team sport, so it's actually pretty good. I don't recall the questions, but here are the answers I got right- Amazons, Sedimentary, California Gurls, Amy Winehouse, Starry Night, Parabola, The Scarlet Letter. EPIC WIN. And I got a couple more half-right, which don't count in an actual competition, but still make me feel better. Seriously, though, what do those answers say about me? I don't know. I'm reading too much into this.
In all my classes, it's an internal struggle. I'm torn between not wanting the other kids to think I'm a know-it-all, and wanting my teachers to think I'm smart. They're both very powerful motivators, but basically what it comes down to is whether I want the kids or the teachers to like me. I've been mostly leaning towards kids, but am still somewhat conflicted. Today, in Honors Biology, I was the only person who knew that the word 'genesis' means beginning. I'm an atheist. shwang wang wang.
NEW BLOGGER IS SO GLITCHY. Not really. It's slightly glitchy. <- meta shit.
Something that is sad is that I don't see a lot of my friends during the day. I guess I'll have to make more of an effort to be sociable. My mother's concerned that I spend too much time inside on the computer. And she's probably right. HOWEVER, it irritates me that she thinks she's in charge of my social life. #firstworldproblems
Also... I don't know. There isn't really an also. Today I went to the mall with my friend. It was pretty good. We went to some tacky-ass stores. And then she had to go. And I had to get my bag out of her car. So I lugged a 20 BAZILLION pound backpack around the mall for about another hour until my mom got there. So I just camped in the Barnes and Noble coffee... place, reading skeptic magazine. And the woman thought I was ten, because who takes a backpack to the mall? No one. ME. Yeah, she asked me if I or 'one of my parents' have a Barnes and Noble card. I haven't heard the, 'one of [my parents]' line in YEARS. for swears.
A few days ago I bought a religious book called erasing hell. And I couldn't read more than five pages. And I felt really close minded. But I just... it was So. Stupid. I don't know. I don't want to be one of those people who thinks that they're right just because they don't listen to any other ideas. So, I tried. I think I'll maybe try to find some better literature. There is not very much very good literature on the topic of religion. I guess that's because it's such an emotional thing. I don't know. I started reading 'The God Delusion' by Richard Dawkins, and while his overall philosophy is something I agree with, HE IS SUCH A DICK. Really. He's just an enormous asshole prick who is an asshole. It's hard to explain, but if you read a few pages I think you'll likely agree. Unless you are Richard Dawkins, because Richard Dawkins is a smug prick.
I used to be young, but now I feel old.



No comments:

Post a Comment