i'm not your manic pixie dream girl

Monday, April 13, 2015

some things that I wrote in early January of this year but are still the same now

1/5

I miss Cameron. I miss him a lot and I feel like I could be in love with him, as I have felt for a while now, but I would never say so because that would ruin the thing I have with him. I first typed “had” instead of “have.” I’m really not sure. His mom has been texting me a lot which Ellie S. agrees is nice but also a little bit…. Smothering isn’t really the right word.

Since he’s been gone I have: (and these may be unrelated but this is what I have done)
-Stopped eating so much junk food
-Written more
-Had more energy
-Slept more
-Cried more
-Felt empty
-Felt incredibly lonely.

Is this how I felt before I had him? I’m not sure. I wonder if perhaps my friendship with him made me draw the life out of my other friendships a little bit, or maybe my friendships with them just pale in comparison to his.
I really do miss him but it embarrasses me to feel so dependent, especially since I know he doesn’t care at all. I’m just kidding I know he does care but not as much as I do. Never as much as I do, and it doesn’t matter what it is. I think I just feel too much, and he maybe too little. That’s what his mother thinks but I think she might hate him a little bit. I know she loves him but I think raising that ungrateful boy for 18 years might make you hate him a little too.
I am embarrassed by how much I feel like I need him and how I can barely help myself from texting him every couple of days even though it just makes me sad. It’s just so so hard to go from talking every day all day to not talking at all. I miss him and I don’t have any other outlet for those feelings and experiences.

What I would have told him these past couple of weeks:
-Christmas with my family
            -Bernadette
            -My cousins
-I am going to break up with Emma
-I finished all my college applications to day
-Our paper is almost done
-I don’t know why I try so hard to inflate myself and impress people, I really don’t. I can feel myself fighting for everyone’s attention and that’s embarrassing too.


Our paper is almost done and student council went really well tonight. I feel hollow.

1/6
We sent the paper to press today. I skipped Plus 1 and Stat and stayed an hour after school to work on it! So there’s about 5 hours of my life. I am worried that there will be mistakes and it will be my fault but such is life. I think the process went well this time.

I broke up with Emma on tumblr last night- which I know I know is awful but I didn’t want to do it in person at school because maybe I would cry or maybe she would and that would be awful and I have no other way of communicating with her.
She was really sweet and understanding, I said you know “it’s not you it’s me” which is true like I am not… I don’t know I’m just not a person who probably should be in relationships like it’s hard for me to be present with someone except for like Cameron all the time and the real reasons were that I a) just didn’t really ‘feel it’ like I really liked spending time with her and I think she’s really cute and stuff but I just didn’t feel it and I don’t know b) I was scared to be overly responsible for her emotions like the only other person I know with that level of emotional issues was Lea circa sophomore year, but that’s not really the same because being friends and dating is super different. And I just wow I feel awful now, because I thought she was okay but then today at school she checked out of APES after like 20 minutes and then she wasn’t in journalism at all and I feel really super duper guilty and I feel like… it feels a lot worse to hurt a girl in that way than it does to hurt a boy. Maybe that’s because I’m super gay or because like boys are worse or maybe I just feel more for girls because I am a girl. I don’t know. I feel terrible and I almost feel like I regret it like I didn’t miss her when I just avoided her for a week over break (I am going to hell) but I miss her now. The other reason I ended it was c) it was very, very tiring to not be able to talk about my dating with my friends and family and other people. I just don’t know if I can do this. I think it would be best if I stayed single for the rest of high school.

I really wish I could talk to Cameron about this. Ellie is a great substitute but she’s not quite introspective enough, I guess? I don’t know. Her words don’t mean as much to me, which is a hideous thing to say since she’s been there for me for like 12 years and Cameron and I were obsessed with each other- I more than him- for 1, and now it’s over.
It is. I feel awful for his mother, who tries to intervene at every turn. She just wants him to have friends and she interferes in his life so much just because she wants to KNOW him, and she’s given up trying to know him through talking to him, so she talks to me instead. I understand why she’s worried that he won’t have any friends after me… I’m worried too. I had imagined we would just drift apart amicably when he felt ready but I don’t think he is or feels ready now.

I don’t quite regret coming out to Ellie, it’s certainly a relief and it makes me feel less alone right now, but I feel kind of weird about how we’ve never talked about it and she never brings it up and I just I don’t know like I can’t tell if it makes her uncomfortable or what? Not I mean just the fact that I’m gay but that I kept it a secret from her for so long, and that I’m still keeping it a secret from Emma and my parents. I don’t know, I guess I’ve kind of established that I like to talk things half to death, so maybe it is normal.

I think maybe this is good for me, to have time to let some of my love for that boy dry up.

Sunday, March 31, 2013

driving me crazy

A couple weeks ago I jobshadowed at this clubhouse for severely mentally ill adults. It was awesome. I don't know how much I've mentioned it, but working with severely mentally ill adults, especially individuals affected by schizophrenia, is kind of my dream. But recently I've been kind of unhappy and that causes me to question basically every part of my life, including my plans for the future, even though they really have nothing to do with my grandma's death or a difficult Physics teacher. But anyway, the point is that I became concerned that I would go down the path of social work and then realize that I hate it. Most people think I won't be any good at it and sometimes I worry that they're right.
So I was both excited and nervous to do this day at this place. My mother (who was a social worker for many years) has a lot of connections within the mental health community where we live so normally they wouldn't allow teenagers to do this.
The premise behind this organization is that the mentally ill people, called members, work with the staff to maintain the clubhouse. The clubhouse, in return, is a place for them to eat, socialize, and gain job experience. It's really a cool program and I think it helps a lot of people.
My dad dropped me off at 8. The clubhouse is indeed a house, it's this old Victorian place painted bright purple on the inside and out. I meet up with the young woman I'm supposed to be shadowing and she tells me in a bit more detail what she does on a day to day basis and what the mission of the organization is. (I know it already because I did my research, but I digress.) She seemed kind of stressed and later she tells me that this is because she actually has to do a lot of things that she doesn't really know how to do. She's a social worker but since another employee quit, she's also been having to do all the financial stuff. Which sucks.
Interestingly enough, despite only having known these people for about a day, I still remember their names. However, due to confidentiality and my own morality, I will not be including them in this post.
So she asks this very small man with thick glasses and a bad stutter to give me a tour, which he does, happily. He was very noun-focused. "This is the printer." "Here are some computers." He wanted to know what exactly I would be doing today, and I told him. He seemed satisfied.
Next we had the morning meeting, which includes both staff and higher-functioning members. It's interesting how this particular managerial layout of staff and members working together really blurs the line between staff and member. Sitting at the table, I was not immediately able to tell who was what, even after some conversation had elapsed. Mental illness is a very complicated thing. I found out when everyone went around the table and introduced themselves. It was kind of funny because their meeting room is also the dining area, so some of the members were just sort of there to eat breakfast and were not particularly interested in the meeting. Everyone was very friendly and pleasant. The gentleman with the glasses is also eating his breakfast and reading what appears to be a children's cookbook. He asks me what champagne is and I tell him.
Next my supervisor introduces me to some more members. One is very eager to show me the thrift shop that is the main source of income for this organization and, like the rest of the club, is partially run by members. One woman tells me that she graduated from my highschool. She tells me that the town actually used to be even less interesting than it is now.
Our next job is counting out the cash from last month's kitchen income. Some members help in the kitchen but members do pay for their meals. My supervisor, the woman who went to my high school, another member, and I do this at the kitchen table. My supervisor explains that members really like helping count the money and it reminds me of my uncle, the one with schizophrenia. He collects pennies. I learn that a member was hospitalized yesterday and it was not clear to me whether it was a psychiatric hospitalization or for something unrelated. A lot of the members want to go see her but it is difficult to arrange transportation, as very few members have driver's licenses and even fewer have vehicles.
We talk to an older member in a new motorized wheelchair about his dog. He says that he has not been hospitalized since he got her, and that keeping track of her veterinary appointments helps him stay more "with it". I think this is a very good idea.
I had been worried that I would struggle to interact with members or that I would say the wrong thing, but by this point in the day I've found that they're actually very easy to talk to. Other than trying to avoid the use of the word "crazy" or other similar words, I did not have any problems with conversation.
The member we counted money with sits with me at lunch and she tells me more about her life. She has bipolar disorder. She has two grown children, one of whom is in school to become a social worker. When they were young her husband was in the military and they moved around a lot. She enjoys knitting. She misses her husband. (I do not ask where he has gone.)
After lunch, another staff member suggests that I help clean up in the kitchen. She introduces me to the member who most often does this, adding that he is "one of our younger members", which makes me laugh. I try to help him clean up but I think he really prefers to do it himself. After I complete each task, I ask him what I should do next and every time he tells me that I can "take a quick break, I guess." I washed a dish and took a break. Then I washed another dish and took another break. By the time I had rinsed all the dishes, he was done with the entire kitchen. I felt kind of bad that I didn't help him more. It was funny, though, the rest of the day, every time he saw me, he would stop and thank me for helping him.
By this time, it is 2:00. Time passed SO quickly, probably because I actually enjoyed what I was doing. My supervisor is now ready to do an "HR training". The staff do a lot of trainings to help the members learn skills for both their jobs at the clubhouse and future jobs. This particular training topic is Hiring and Discrimination. Apparently the clubhouse has had some problems with both members and staff while conducting interviews for their most recent position. Not like racism or anything, but asking questions that they aren't legally allowed to ask. This training began in the dining/meeting room, and was attended by myself and the other member I spoke to earlier over lunch about knitting and family. After a couple minutes, another member comes in to eat his lunch, but starts contributing more as we talk about what is and is not acceptable in hiring. My supervisor mentions that in our state, there is no law to prevent people from not hiring someone based on sexual orientation. At this point, the guy trying to eat lunch comments, "Hey! That's not right at all!". We all agree. As we talk about it more, it's clear that he doesn't know particularly a lot about LGBT rights, but his heart is definitely in the right place. We also talked about how some people who interviewed for a job recently were not very respectful of members and didn't really seem to understand what the entire organization was about. This was probably my favorite part of the day because after it was over, my supervisor tells some of the other staff members how much this member participated in the training, and they're kind of floored. Apparently this guy really hasn't spoken to anyone in the past month, much less participated in an activity. I was very pleased.
Things are starting to wind down around the clubhouse. I help make Kool-Aid for some of the members, who are thrilled, and then staff member introduces me to a gentleman sitting in the office drinking some Kool-Aid. She says that he has been at the clubhouse for a very long time and is all about education. Apparently he will tell me whatever I want to know. I ask him a couple questions about schizophrenia and how his life is. He happily tells me all about it but soon diverts the conversation to the topic of Kool-Aid. I did not know that it was possible to have so much to say about Kool-Aid, but it is. He tells me what flavors of Kool-Aid he prefers, how he prepares the Kool-Aid, and which members like Kool-Aid the most. He was really a nice guy and I enjoyed talking to him.
At this point, it is time for me to leave. Emma is waiting in the parking lot to pick me up, and declines my invitation to come inside. (Her loss.) My knitting friend rushes to get me something, which turns out to be a mug with the clubhouse logo on it. It's a very nice mug and I use it often. It was really nice getting to know her. My supervisor wrote a couple of lines on this sheet I have to turn in for my jobshadowing. She said some really nice things. I was particularly pleased that she said I did a really excellent job building rapport with members.
I think you'll think that this was a really boring blog post, and it probably was, but it was one of the best things I've done in a long time. I had a really excellent time and it reasurred me that this is really something I want to do. I really really want to do this.

Monday, February 11, 2013

Dearest Teacher,

You are very mean. I don’t think you realize this, but you are.
Every time I try to ask you a question, you either do not listen very well and answer a question that has not been asked, or act very dismissive as though the answer to this is very obvious, even though you are a TEACHER and we are LEARNING this material. I think you have even said to me on multiple occasions, “Come on, this is pretty basic stuff.” I don’t think you understand how unhelpful and flat-out mean that is. I am FUCKING TRYING. And you sure as fuck don’t make it easy. I don’t understand why you think it would help someone to say that.
I don’t know why you would think it would help me to write on my paper, “THIS IS COMMON SENSE”. I don’t know why you would be so fucking angry with me when I SHOULD BE ANGRY BECAUSE THIS IS MY FUCKING GRADE. It has no fucking effect on you, which is pretty clear from the daily way that you demonstrate NOT GIVING A FUCK ABOUT ME OR MY GRADE OR MY FUCKING FEELINGS.
I don’t fucking know why you would write “ASK ME, GODDANGIT!” (emphasis yours) when I write in a lab that we didn’t do something because we didn’t know how. FIRST OF ALL, WE COMPLETED THIS ASSIGNMENT AT FUCKING HOME BECAUSE YOU SURE DIDN’T GIVE US ENOUGH FUCKING TIME IN FUCKING CLASS TO DO THE FUCKING SHIT. SECOND OF ALL, WHEN I STAYED AFTER TO FINISH IT YOU WEREN’T EVEN FUCKING. THERE.  I don’t understand why you would fucking say that my process is “FUNDAMENTALLY FLAWED”  when I, responding to why I think the data might be a certain way, that it “could perhaps” be because the sensor skipped a few fucking bars on the goddamn fucking piece of plastic.
IT’S PRETTY FUCKING OBVIOUS THAT I UNDERSTAND THIS GODDAMN INFORMATION DESPITE YOUR BEST FUCKING EFFORTS, BECAUSE I KEEP GETTING 100+ ON ALL YOUR TESTS. So it seems to me that basically the only reason why I keep getting shitty grades on these GODDAMNED LABS is that you have all these fucking idiosyncracies about fucking spacing, and WHO THE FUCK ACTUALLY TAKES OFF POINTS for INCLUDING a data table in the write up because it is already included in the packet, which I had no fucking way of knowing would be turned in with the assignment. IN FACT, I would really have no goddamn way of knowing that you want spaces between questions, would I? BECAUSE YOU NEVER GIVE A FUCKING RUBRIC. SO I HAVE NO GODDAMN IDEA WHY YOU WOULD GIVE ME A FUCKING 80 ON SOMETHING WHEN I SEEM TO HAVE GOTTEN 14/15 FUCKING QUESTIONS RIGHT.
AND HEY? GUESS WHAT ELSE ISN’T FUCKING HELPFUL? You actually calling me out into the hallway at the beginning of class to tell me what a fucking shitty job I did on something, even though you already wrote on my paper that this is “WRONG” (emphasis yours) and, as I already noted, “COMMON SENSE” (emphasis yours). THANKS, CRYING FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE CLASS PERIOD REALLY HELPS ME IMPROVE AND LEARN.
EXCEPT FOR HOW IT FUCKING DOESN’T.
I DON’T UNDERSTAND WHAT TRAUMATIC EVENT IN YOUR CHILDHOOD CAUSES YOU TO WANT TO EMOTIONALLY EVISCERATE TEENAGE GIRLS WHO PREVIOUSLY BROUGHT HOME TWO MEDALS FOR YOUR BORING AND DIFFICULT EXTRACURRICULAR COMPETITION AND ALSO FREQUENTLY VOLUNTEERS TO HELP OUT WITH THAT SAID BORING EXTRACURRICULAR.
JUST BECAUSE SHE THOUGHT YOU WERE NICE AND WANTED TO HELP YOU. I sure as fuck won’t make that tragic mistake again.
LITERALLY EVERY TIME I EMAIL YOU FOR HELP you don’t reply at all or reply about an hour before school starts the day the assignment I am asking about is do. AREN’T YOU SUPPOSED TO BE THE FUCKING CHAIR OF THE GODDAMN FUCKING SCIENCE DEPARTMENT?
YOU ARE THE WORST FUCKING SCIENCE TEACHER EXCEPT FOR THAT ONE LADY WHO IS RACIST. You only get to be chair because you are old and have a PhD.
Your class does not make me want to be a scientist. Your class does not make me like science, or school, or learning, or you, or life in general. It makes me want to sob hysterically and give up on all my ambitions because you are JUST THAT EFFECTIVE OF A BULLY. So, congratulations!
P.S. You are the worst teacher I have ever met, a fucking asshole and I hate you.
P.P.S. There are a lot more horrible things I have to say about you but I don't even remember some of them in my blinding rage.

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

...

My grandma died today. The one who told me that I shouldn't be surprised if she died of a stroke soon. Despite her frailty, I had always thought she would live forever. At the same time, when we left for the last time at Christmas I cried a little when I hugged her as we left. I'm just glad I remember that the last thing I said to her was "I love you, grandma." And that she said, "I love you too." I feel the same as when Uncle Ted died, but worse.
I feel so much regret. I wish I had listened to her more, talked to her more. She always told me the same stories so I stopped listening as much after a while. Sometimes when I would ask her about certain things she would tell me something new, like about her childhood or her marriage. She was actually a literal 50s housewife. She was apparently pretty terrible at it, though who's really good at having five kids?
I wish I knew more about her. I always felt like I would have more time.
I wonder if she believed in God.
She was so proud of me. The last time my mom talked to her on the phone, my mom told her about how well I did at Quizbowl the other day. And she said, "Tell her congratulations! Of course, I'm not surprised, but don't tell her I said that. I don't want her to feel pressured."
I wish I knew more about her.
I wish I had talked to her on the phone.
My mom says she knew that I loved her but she would always say little things like, "I know you have better things to do than spend time with your old grandma." And sometimes I would silently agree. I wish I could go back and do things differently.
I should have talked to her more.
When I was little and afraid of the dark I used to imagine that the ghost of my cousin would protect me from monsters. I imagined that he would stand in the corner of my roomand keep watch so that nothing bad could happen. As I got older, of course, I needed him less and less. But sometimes I'd still think about him, but instead of just him it was his dad, too, my uncle. I guess as we get older we accumulate more ghosts. I have four now.

Tuesday, January 8, 2013

Sorry for being so depressing twice in a row. Actually, no I'm not. This blog is for me. Fuck you.

goodnight, uncle ted

My great uncle is dying. It's weird to say 'great uncle' because to me when I think of great uncles I think of relatives far away that I have never met. But this great uncle is actually a member of the family I see once every two years and quite like. The non-fucked up side of the family. The side of the family where my cousin died. (This is his grandfather. That's pretty fucked up, isn't it?)
I'm kind of angry about it, actually.
Because the last time I saw him he was already pretty far gone... into Alzheimer's, sorry. And, like, I didn't really know how bad it was until we got there to see everyone. He didn't remember his own granddaughter. I believe he referred to me as "that pretty little girl over there." Which makes me want to laugh and cry at the same time.
And then the time before that I feel like I was a child (hardly, at 13) and he hadn't been diagnosed yet. I'm so angry with myself for wasting the times that I could have had with him. I'm so angry because the time where everyone was, kind of without saying it out loud, saying goodbye to him, he was already gone. So really no one ever got to say goodbye and the whole thing is horrible. I feel horrible.
I guess I'm mad because I for some reason felt like I had a lot more time. I always feel like I have forever with everyone, that people don't die and won't be at my graduation or my wedding. Which is really selfish, isn't it? What a horrible thing to say. But that's how I feel. Whenever I think about my family I feel like they will always be there.
It's so horrible to think about how I'm never, ever going to see someone I loved ever again.

Sunday, December 30, 2012

alabama, arkansas, i do love my ma and pa

Hey. Long time no see. I don't have any real reason, I haven't been, like, in the hospital or anything. I just haven't gotten into the mindset of writing much recently. Well, I have been writing a lot, but for the newspaper, not for this. Anyway.
I recently visited my family. My dad's family lives scattered across the country. I guess I should count myself lucky that they're currently confined to the continental US because for a while in the 80s several of them lived in various middle eastern countries. At our most recent family reunion, over Labor Day of this year, we talked about where everyone was when they were 24 (sparked by my 24 year old cousin's recent move to New York and fabulous new magazine job). My aunt talked about how she was living in Dubai and was forced into her first of, at my most recent count, five marriages, because she was nearly raped by her boss and living with a man who wasn't your husband was frowned upon. My mom was dating the anarchist that was murdered later, but she was getting her Master's degree. My dad was doing depressing work laying fiberoptic cables in Texas. I remember he told this story about putting bookshelves in front of his shitty apartment's door, but I don't remember the reason. My grandma was married with three kids. One of my aunts talked about how she had just started dating my uncle. He's the one who's dead now. I was glad that she talked about him because it was the first time we all were able to reminisce about how funny he was. My dad and another uncle talked about how wasted they all got at his funeral, which made me laugh. My dad drinks a lot but I've never seen him drunk. We hold our liquor well. I like my dad's family a lot. I see them once every two years and I miss them inbetween.
On my dad's side, we hold our liquor well. Now, my mother's family all live in the state that we live in, but we only see them, with the exception of my aunt, every six months or so, at my grandmother's birthday and at Christmas. So naturally we just visited them and wow! They are fucking insane. My mom has four siblings. She's the youngest, and then there's my Auntie, who used to be a dancer and is now a singer. She and my uncle used to take care of me a lot when I was small, and she and my mother are very close. We see her around once a month.
And then there's my mom's only brother, who is schizophrenic and a born-again Christian. I didn't actually know that he was schizophrenic because my mom has a tendency to avoid the discussion of unpleasant things until I started learning about it and mentioned it to my mother, at which point she said, "You know your uncle is schizophrenic?" No, I didn't. Of course, I should have known because he occasionally talked about his delusions while around me. I think my mom tried to limit my exposure to him, though I wouldn't think she would feel... like she had to do that, since she's a therapist.
And then there's another of my aunts. She lives with my uncle, grandmother, and her two kids, one a senior in high school and the other a freshman in college. So, I always knew that we didn't all get together at the holidays because my Auntie and she don't get along, and I never really liked her. I always found her to be... kind of callous. (When I was younger, we would normally have Christmas Eve dinner with my Auntie, then have everyone except her come down on Christmas day to open presents, and then have my uncle and grandma stay with us for a few days after that. Christmas Eve was always my favorite. Now we normally have Christmas by ourselves and go down after Christmas to clean their house.) Anyway, I was explaining this whole thing to my friend the other day when something occurred to me. "You know, I think she might be an alcoholic," I said to my friend. I really had never thought of it before, and I don't remember seeing her drinking but when I looked back at her behavior, it seemed to fit. I thought about asking my mom, but then thought better of it when I considered her tendency to avoid unpleasant topics. On the drive down there this Christmas, my mother did, for some reason, mention to me that my aunt's ex-husband, the father of my two cousins, is currently in prison for cooking meth. WELL.
When we arrived at the house, it was absolutely filthy, as always. I notice it more now that I'm older. Anyway, my grandmother lives in the house too, and she's 88 and can barely walk. I always wondered why my aunt didn't clean very much until I realized, oh yeah, SHE'S A RAGING ALCOHOLIC. Honestly, the second she came out of her room and started talking I knew. I really can't believe that I never drew the rather obvious conclusion earlier. Anyway, my mom was passive-aggressively annoyed because she thought that my aunt would be at work. So we all talked uncomfortably for a while. My uncle gave me a twenty-dollar check because he lost my giftcard. I think my mom would have been happier if we didn't have to socialize at all- really the whole purpose of the visit was to fix their house. Last month my dad visited there himself to look at all the problems so that he could bring the right tools this time. He ducks out on our weirdly formal family conversation to fix their dryer.
My cousins were asleep but then they woke up and joined in the uncomfortable conversation. The one who's a senior is a boy and he's not particularly interested in me. During the course of our visit he had two friends over, both of whom simply walked into the house without ringing the doorbell. (Later we are told that the doorbell is broken.) My other cousin still lives at home even though she's in college now. She used to be pretty weird and anxious, but she seems a bit better now. Anyway, she presents me with a Pat Benatar CD (I've come to the conclusion that I hate Pat Benatar). I can tell that she feels bad that we barely know each other and halfway proposes that we go to the mall, but I didn't really want to because she's still pretty weird and really likes anime, so I politely found a way of deflecting this suggestion. We talked for a little while though. It was okay.
At 5, we left, supposedly because we had dinner reservations but actually because none of us could really stand to spend any more time with them. We came back the next day, though, early in the morning, after stopping at the hardware store and buying them a new dryer. We get there, and my uncle and grandma are awake, he reading the Bible and she yelling at him to make her some tea. My grandmother doesn't really understand that my uncle is mentally ill and basically expects him to wait on her, which he mostly does. This, I note, makes my mother uncomfortable and is the main reason why we sometimes have the two of them to our house, so that we can serve as substitutes for my uncle and he can be in a quiet, clean house. My uncle is more agitated than usual, and we learn that this is because the garage has flooded. My dad goes off to investigate, and my mom makes grandma some tea. Grandma nearly does a spit-take when my mom says that we've bought them a new dryer. My mom insists that it's no big deal and my grandma sadly says to us that "it's [her] fault," because she always puts things off. My mom agrees with her.
My dad comes up a while later and tells us that he has fixed the leak in the garage, caused by the washing machine. (I suspect that it's due to whatever he did yesterday but don't say anything.) He sets to work clearing a path in their Hoarders-esque garage for the people to deliver the dryer, and my mom and I go upstairs to clean my grandma's room. My grandmother saves basically every piece of mail she receives, some of which seems to be important and most of which isn't. My mom throws basically all of it out, and my grandmother slightly freaks out but is too tired to prevent her from doing so. My grandmother tells me a lot of stories about distant family members who I've never met, most notably a 3rd cousin of mine who is, "a Down Syndrome." My mother tasks me with matching seemingly identical socks, at which point my female cousin walks in. I feel like she's kind of hurt not to be included, but she's also kind of annoying and my mom sort of ignores her.
We tell my grandmother that we are taking her to Burlington Coat Factory to get her a coat. "I'm always cold," she tells us for the umpteenth time. I looked forward to this outing as there is very little food in their house, and my mother has passed on her germophobia to me. I decide not to take my chances in their kitchen and wait to get some Subway when we go out. My grandmother has also picked up on my cousin's somewhat hurt feelings as she tells my mother that she will be "absolutely crushed not to be included". My mother basically ignores this and we leave. My other cousin is still asleep, and my alcoholic aunt is in her bedroom with the TV blaring.
Burlington Coat Factory is, it turns out, in a very bad area of town. I walk by several drug deals in action on my way to Subway, and on my way back I am almost not unreasonably concerned about being gunned down in a tragic drive-by shooting. Obviously, I escaped with my life.
When we come back, we all sit in the very dark and dusty living room. My dad has not left the garage, still heroically clearing a path through old clothes, Christmas decorations, and broken appliances. My mother escapes to go 'see how he's doing' and my grandmother is basically an inanimate object. This leaves me, my cousin, and my alcoholic aunt alone in the living room (my other cousin is still asleep). My aunt proceeds, apropos of seemingly nothing, to tell a pretty horrible story about this one time where she was petsitting for her neighbors and, in an unstated span of time, managed to let their cat out, presumably kill their pet tarantula, and definitely kill their iguana by leaving its heat lamp on too long and, ahem, "frying it". She's completely oblivious to how upset this story is making my cousin, and to a lesser extent, me. I excuse myself to talk to my mother in the garage, where I passively aggressively ask her to come back inside and she passive aggressively refuses.
I go back to the living room and we all sit there blinking at each other for a while. Later, when my mom was cleaning my grandmother's room and my grandmother and I talked to each other alone, she told me a little bit about her childhood (they sucked on ice for fun. [it was the great depression). My grandmother is a first-generation Welsh immigrant. Apparently her mother missed Whales very much, particularly a specific beach that she used to visit when she was a girl. After my grandma's father died, her brother sent their mother back to the beach that she missed so much but arrived to find that it had been completely built up and the charming little town that she loved so much was erased. She wished that she had never gone. I almost cried.
She also asked me to copy some addresses that she had into her new address book. It turns out that "some addresses" meant "an entire address book" and "new address book" meant "the one that we gave her last Christmas". The old address book was the one that she shared with my grandfather. He died shortly before I was born of lung cancer. My mother that this nearly destroyed my grandmother, and I think she's right. It sounds like they were very much in love. Anyway, we went through the address book, but I actually didn't have to copy too many things because as my grandmother went through, she realized that 75% of the people in it are now dead or "in a home". It made her pretty sad, understandably.
Tangentially, my dad has been secretly working on a project where he's transcribing all of the letters my grandfather sent my grandma and his mother while he was fighting in World War 2 and researched where he was and what battles he was involved in. He's really quite a nerd, my dad. My mother rescued the original letters from my grandmother's house a few years back and they both read them. I would like to read them but no one ever offered. My dad unveiled this project on Christmas Eve with Auntie. Both my aunt and my mother cried a little and talked about how sweet their dad was to my grandmother and how much he thought about her while he was gone. In one letter he mentions that he bought something at their most recent location for her younger sister's birthday. They talked about how mostly he tried to put on a brave face for my grandmother, with whom he was engaged, but also how scared he seemed and how young he was (18). I wish I had had the chance to meet my grandfather.
My grandmother gave me her roll-top desk, which we will retrieve at some later date.
After we left crazy-house, as it has been unaffectionately named, we went out to dinner with my 3rd and oldest aunt, my oldest cousin and my uncle. I really like them but we don't see them that much as a visit with them generally means a visit with the rest of my family. We share a similar sense of humor and mostly exchanged stories of how insane the rest of our family is. I also received confirmation that my aunt is a raging alcoholic without having to ask. I wish we saw them more.
Then we came home and sat in our clean house quietly. It was very pleasant.