Every day this week I have come home and either:
A) burst into tears
B) taken a nap
C) Both!
The answer is C. I started sophomore year last Monday. I was not expecting to hate sophomore year, though I was not excited about starting school as I have been in the past. Spoiler alert: I hate this year. I half of my teachers, 90 percent of my classmates, and 75 percent of my classes.
My classes this semester are Civics Honors, English 2 Honors, Journalism, and Spanish 3 Honors.
Today, in Civics, we had to continue 'translating' Patrick Henry's 'Give Me Liberty or Give Me Death' speech. Already, it's an idiotic assignment. Apparently because it isn't written in modern English, it's COMPLETELY IMPOSSIBLE to understand. Or so thinks my Civics teacher and my entire Civics class. And it's not like this is fucking 1200 or something. We aren't at a fucking Renaissance festival learning fucking Old English. THIS WAS THE REVOLUTIONARY WAR YOU STUPID FUCKS.
Everyone is terrible. Our Civics teacher gave us 40 minutes yesterday to complete the assignment. The speech is 2 pages long. I've written longer blog posts. I finished it in ten minutes. Today, he gave us 45 minutes. At the end of class, today, no one was finished. That's 95 fucking minutes where apparently everyone is so goddamn stupid that they just sat there and drooled on themselves the whole time. I just don't understand how that is even possible. I just don't fucking understand. And, of course, too stupid to use the fucking internet. Or ask our stupid fuck of a Civics teacher who sat there, the entire class, on his fucking laptop. I swear to god, the entire fucking time. The lazy fuck didn't answer one question. Meanwhile, I'm trying to read my fucking book. Today in those 45 minutes I swear to god I answered 40 questions. Some of the most memorable:
"What are chains?"
And, near the end: "Wait... is he talking about the British?"
Both of those questions happened, today. I just don't understand how this is something that happened.
So, imagine this experience, but every day. For the rest of your high school career. Which happens to feel like forever. And, hey, don't get me wrong here. It's not like I expect people to not be stupid. I just expect teachers to not be lazy fucks. And maybe. Just maybe, if all teachers would actually teach the entire class, people wouldn't be so goddamn stupid. BIG IDEAS.
Every year when I start school my main motivation is not, like normal people, the desire to get good grades and go to a good college to get a good job. My goal is to impress my teachers. This probably suggests that my parents didn't love me enough when I was small or something. I guess it's just a matter of thumos. BUT ANYWAY, I've found that it's nearly impossible to do this because a great majority of teachers just don't give a fuck. None of my teachers give a fuck, except for my journalism teacher, who reminds me of John Green and is amazing. My English teacher is always a person I particularly want to impress, but somehow they always end up hating me. It remains to be seen whether that will be the case this year, but I can say that my English teacher definitely has a streak or five of not giving a fuck. Though one thing that was good was that on the first day, I wrote a thing about how one of the things I value most is my sense of irreverence, and somehow I was forced to read that, and he seemed to like it quite a bit. I'm willing to cut him a little slack for not showing that he gives enough of a fuck because this is his first semester teaching, but I am going to be annoyed if this goes on the entire semester. He's definitely a step up from last year's English teacher, so I guess that's a bit of a plus.
Journalism is quite a bit of fun, though I don't imagine that I'll be able to do it again because, in my never ending quest for valedictorian, I have to take the most challenging classes available. I like journalism, though. I just wish it was a club or something. And I also wish that there weren't so many kids that did it last year in the class, because they all seem to think that people who are new cannot possibly write well, and that everyone who took it last year is THE BEST FUCKING WRITER. When actually, some of them are really quite shit. But hey, I don't really give a fuck about what they think.
And then Spanish is a complete clusterfuck. In 8th grade, we had this Spanish teacher who was completely crazy in five senses of the word. All her worksheets are completely disorganized. Her "instruction" consists mostly of her shouting at us the entire class period, and her lesson plans are non existent. She likes to spend some of the class talking about her divorce/her dog/her son, Pablo/her greencard/generally innapropriate information about her personal life. And to top it all off, she actually has an extremely poor grasp of the English language. So of course, the high school would hire her, and she is now my Spanish 3 teacher. DISASTER.
Also, there is kid in there who apparently feels the need to get a teacher to verbally approve every word that he writes on his paper; every move that he makes. I spend much of the class hoping that our Spanish teacher will someday flip the fuck out on him and he'll cry. I genuinely hope that happens. And he is also one of those types who constantly feels that he has to respond to rhetorical questions out loud, or even just general statements that a teacher might make to the class.
I realized today that the ways that I deal with my problems generally fall into the categories of:
-bitching
-being a bitch to other people
-crying like a bitch
I wonder what that says about me?
Thursday, August 30, 2012
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment